Guide · updated 2026-10-31

Toasters: metal slots, named crumb trays

Bread toasts on metal elements in almost every toaster. We score whether makers name the crumb tray and carriage. Plastic bodies without a materials list fail.

On this page
How to read verdicts: passes metal/glass primary path (silicone seals OK if disclosed). partial usable if you skip a coated accessory, or plastic remains on lids. fails plastic or fluoropolymer/nonstick in the normal use path.

Quick picks

Comparison

Swipe sideways to see all columns →

ModelVerdictPricePrimary food-contactOrigin
passes—Stainless steel body / slots (dealer material line)United Kingdom (handmade per dealer copy)
partial$109.95Brushed stainless steel body (construction materials)Not confirmed this check
partial$59.46Stainless steel exterior—
partial$49.95Stainless steel exterior housingChina (typical; confirm on unit)
partial$299.99Stainless steel body / slot housing (disclosed)United Kingdom (hand-built West Sussex per Dualit)
partial—Metal slots/elements (typical)—
partial—Metal toasting elements (expected)—
partial$149.95Stainless steel body—
fails—Plastic body (typical)—
fails$27.99Plastic exterior housing (visible; not primary bread contact)Not confirmed this check

Product notes

Rowlett Regent 4-Slot Toaster Grey

Rowlett Regent 4-Slot Toaster (Grey)

PASSES

Rowlett · Model DA222 / Regent 4-Slot

Why: Commercial UK toaster: dealer listing states stainless steel construction; bread contacts metal slots/elements. Genuine replacement crumb tray AK237 is listed by catering retailers (Nisbets) as Material: Stainless Steel — naming the tray alloy that Dualit still omits on consumer pages.

Price checked
Price: varies / not listed · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Stainless steel body / slots (dealer material line)
  • Metal heating elements (bread contact)
  • Stainless steel crumb tray (Nisbets AK237 spare: Material Stainless Steel)
Made in
United Kingdom (handmade per dealer copy)
Warranty
2 years machine / 1 year element (Kirklands listing)

Watch-outs

  • UK 230V commercial unit; US 120V version unconfirmed — verify voltage before buying for US kitchens
  • UK 230V commercial — confirm voltage/plug for your market
  • Niche catering channel, not big-box US retail
  • Confirm AK237 tray ships with / fits the exact colour SKU

Sources

Photo source: Dealer product photo · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with licensed asset when available

Retailer link (not an Amazon Associates link). Disclosure.

Breville Breville A Bit More 2-Slice Toaster

Breville A Bit More 2-Slice Toaster

PARTIAL

Breville · Model BTA720BSSUSC

Why: Brand lists brushed stainless steel construction and metal toasting slots/elements in normal use. Slide-out crumb tray is emphasized for cleaning, but Breville manuals/product page do not name the crumb tray or carriage polymer/alloy — materials incomplete for a pass.

Price checked
$109.95 · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Brushed stainless steel body (construction materials)
  • Metal heating elements / slot guides (typical; bread contact)
  • Slide-out crumb tray material not named (unverified)
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
1-year limited (typical Breville; confirm at purchase)

Watch-outs

  • Crumb tray / carriage materials not disclosed on product page
  • Re-check construction materials line on the exact SKU

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer page · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with Associates API when available

Retailer link (not an Amazon Associates link). Disclosure.

Cuisinart Cuisinart Classic 4-Slice Toaster

Cuisinart Classic 4-Slice Toaster

PARTIAL

Cuisinart · Model CPT-180 / CPT-180P1

Why: Stainless housing, metal slots; manual/BPA-free food-contact language implies some polymer in the food-contact set (often crumb tray). Same logic as CPT-160.

Price checked
$59.46 · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Stainless steel exterior
  • Metal slots/elements
  • BPA-free food-contact parts (polymer somewhere; not fully named)
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Confirm at purchase

Watch-outs

  • Unnamed BPA-free polymer parts

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via retailer · Mirrored locally from public product page

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure.

Cuisinart Cuisinart Metal Classic 2-Slice Toaster

Cuisinart Metal Classic 2-Slice Toaster

PARTIAL

Cuisinart · Model CPT-160 / CPT-160P1

Why: Popular stainless-look toaster. Manual states food-contact parts are BPA-free — that claim usually means some polymer is in the food-contact set (often the crumb tray). Slot toasting is still on metal elements, but the unnamed BPA-free parts keep this at partial, not pass.

Price checked
$49.95 · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Stainless steel exterior housing
  • Metal toasting slots / elements (bread contact)
  • Slide-out crumb tray (material not named; BPA-free food-contact claim implies polymer somewhere)
Made in
China (typical; confirm on unit)
Warranty
3-year limited (Abt listing)

Watch-outs

  • Brand site product URL 404 during verification — bought via retailers
  • BPA-free food-contact claim without naming the polymer
  • Crumb tray material unverified

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via retailer page · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with Associates API when available

Retailer link (not an Amazon Associates link). Disclosure.

Dualit Dualit NewGen Classic 2-Slice Toaster

Dualit NewGen Classic 2-Slice Toaster

PARTIAL

Dualit · Model NewGen Classic 2-Slice · 4.8★ (123 ratings)

Why: Hand-built UK toaster with disclosed stainless steel body, cast aluminium ends, and ProHeat elements — bread contacts metal slot/elements. Removable crumb tray is present but Dualit does not name the tray alloy/polymer on the product page or manuals we reviewed, so it stops short of a full pass.

Price checked
$299.99 · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Stainless steel body / slot housing (disclosed)
  • ProHeat elements / inner wire guards (metal; bread contact)
  • Cast aluminium ends (exterior structure)
  • Crumb tray material not named by Dualit (unverified)
Made in
United Kingdom (hand-built West Sussex per Dualit)
Warranty
1-year domestic guarantee (Dualit direct)

Watch-outs

  • Crumb tray material not disclosed
  • Premium price
  • Slots shorter than some artisan loaves (owner reports)

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer page · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with Associates API when available

Retailer link (not an Amazon Associates link). Disclosure.

GE GE toasters (typical metal-slot retail models)

GE toasters (typical metal-slot retail models)

PARTIAL

GE · Model Category

Why: GE retail toasters generally toast on metal elements inside stainless or painted housings; crumb-tray polymers often unnamed. Partial pending SKU BoM.

Price checked
Price: varies / not listed · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Metal slots/elements (typical)
  • Crumb tray material often unnamed
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Confirm at purchase

Watch-outs

  • Verify SKU

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via retailer (GE convection toaster oven (category stand-in)) · Mirrored locally from public product page

KitchenAid KitchenAid 2-slice toasters (typical)

KitchenAid 2-slice toasters (typical)

PARTIAL

KitchenAid · Model Category

Why: Stainless-look KitchenAid toasters toast on metal elements; crumb tray/carriage materials rarely fully published. Score partial pending SKU-level BoM — not an automatic fail if metal slots are confirmed on-carton.

Price checked
Price: varies / not listed · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Metal toasting elements (expected)
  • Crumb tray / carriage materials often unpublished
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Confirm at purchase

Watch-outs

  • Verify crumb tray on chosen SKU

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via retailer (KMT2115CU Contour Silver typical) · Mirrored locally from public product page

Smeg Smeg 50's Style 2-Slice Toaster

Smeg 50's Style 2-Slice Toaster

PARTIAL

Smeg · Model TSF01

Why: Stainless body with polished steel crumb tray per Smeg materials notes; plastic base/knobs. Bread toasts on metal elements; crumb tray steel is a plus, but incomplete carriage disclosure keeps partial.

Price checked
$149.95 · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Stainless steel body
  • Polished steel crumb tray (brand notes)
  • Plastic base / control knobs
  • Carriage polymer not fully mapped
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Confirm at purchase

Watch-outs

  • Confirm US SKU crumb-tray wording

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer page · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with Associates API when available

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure.

Black+Decker Black+Decker toasters (typical plastic body)

Black+Decker toasters (typical plastic body)

FAILS

Black+Decker · Model Category

Why: Entry Black+Decker toasters are largely plastic-bodied with incomplete food-contact BoMs. Fails confirmed metal-path bar.

Price checked
Price: varies / not listed · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Plastic body (typical)
  • Slot/tray materials often undisclosed
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Confirm at purchase

Watch-outs

  • Category pattern

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer (typical B+D 4-slice) · Mirrored locally from public product page

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 2-Slice Extra-Wide Slots Toaster

Hamilton Beach 2-Slice Extra-Wide Slots Toaster

FAILS

Hamilton Beach · Model 22218

Why: Mainstream entry-level toaster with a plastic exterior body and no published bill of materials for slot guides, carriage, or crumb tray. Without a metal-only food-contact disclosure, it fails our materials bar for readers seeking confirmed metal-slot / metal-tray toasting.

Price checked
$27.99 · 2026-10-31
Food-contact
  • Plastic exterior housing (visible; not primary bread contact)
  • Slot / carriage / crumb tray materials not disclosed by maker
Made in
Not confirmed this check
Warranty
Confirm at purchase

Watch-outs

  • No maker disclosure of crumb tray or carriage materials
  • Plastic exterior

Sources

Photo source: Product photo via manufacturer page · Mirrored locally from public product page; replace with Associates API when available

Retailer link (not an Amazon Associates link). Disclosure.